Fresh Spinach Konafa

Since the image of this glorious appetizer is most likely what lured you in, I must admit right off the bat that I did not cook this!  This fresh spinach konafa is from a Greek restaurant, Taverna Yiamas, in Hollywood, Fl.

IMG_0524

This dish is very similar to spanakopita.  It is made with shredded phyllo dough, feta cheese, and spinach, all sandwiched together and grilled (fried?) to perfection.

Now, over the past year or so I have developed somewhat of an obsession for Greek Food.  I have tried numerous Greek restaurants and have strong, unwavering opinions of who makes the best kebobs, saganaki, tzatiki, hummus, spanakopita, etc.. Let me tell you, Taverna Yiamas makes the best konafa/spanakopita I have ever had.  Period.  The service/ambiance at this place leaves much to be desired, but that becomes irrelevant as soon as you bite into the konafa.

What makes this dish outstanding and different from other spanakopita-type dishes I have had is the crispiness of the shredded phyllo paired with the creaminess of the abundant feta cheese and fresh spinach.  We always order the exact same thing (konafa appetizer with schwarma pitas), so that is the only food I can vouch for from this restaurant.

Ironically, we stumbled upon this place via Groupon, and it was definitely one of those places that surprised us for the better.  Like I said, the ambience and service is sub-par at best, but the konafa is so good I would eat it off the floor if that were my only choice (kidding.. kind of).

Anybody else obsessed with Greek &/ Mediterranean food? 

Leave a Reply

