Chicken In A Pastry

Finally, after a week of hectic schedules and grab-and-go food, we were able to cook a nice dinner last night: chicken in a pastry!  Before I blog any further, I must tell you guys that I am aware the pictures of this meal are rather unappealing.  There is only so much Instagram and Photo-toaster can do for an un-photogenic meal.  However, I promise you the taste makes up for the appearance!

Chicken in a Pastry

Chicken in a Pastry

This is seriously the easiest meal to make- you only need 3 ingredients!

  • Puff Pastry Sheets (I used Pillsbury)
  • A soft, spreadable herb/cheese mixture, such as Rondele, (I used the light variety)
  • Cooked, cubed chicken, either baked or cooked in a pan until just cooked.

I apologize for not having step-by-step pictures- we were a bit pressed for time.  Next time I make this I will inset the photos into this post.  But, no worries,  this recipe is fool-proof.

Chicken in a Pastry

  1. Season chicken with salt and freshly cracked pepper and cook in the oven or on a frying pan until just cooked through.  *It is important not to dry out the chicken by overcooking now, as you will bake the chicken once more for about 15 minutes.  Once cooked, dice the chicken into small chunks. Set chicken aside.
  2. Defrost pastry sheets according to directions on box.
  3. Cut the sheets into desired sized squares.  In the Pillsbury sheets, you get two full sheets that each break into thirds.  I then cut each third into thirds again to make one square (this is your desired pastry).  This will yield 18 total squares which equals 18 filled pastries when done.  Depending on the brand you use, and whether or not this is a meal/appetizer etc.., you will need to eyeball the appropriate size you want your pastries to be.
  4. Spread about 1 teaspoon of the herbed cheese onto a square and place about 3-4 small chunks of chicken on top of the cheese.  Bring the four corners of the pastry square up and press them together, forming a pocket so that all of the filling is enclosed.  Repeat for each square.
  5. Lay all of the pastry squares on a foil-lined baking sheet (dull side up) and bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until the pastry shell is just turning golden brown.
IMG_0536

Chicken in a Pastry

This is seriously one of the most comforting and simple meals ever.  I served it along with a nice fresh salad of spring mix lettuce, diced pairs, blueberries, and walnuts dressed with oil and vinegar.

IMG_0533

Salad with pear, blueberries, and walnuts

I know this is not really a “recipe” necessarily, as the idea of stuffing puffed pastry sheets with cheese and filling is not new.  But, I hope I at least planted a seed in your mind for the next time you need an easy yet comforting dinner that leaves you both full and satisfied :)

I just wanted to mention the addition of my “Best Thing I Ever Ate” section to the blog.  This section will be documenting my absolute favorite foods in different categories. It is a work in progress, but please check it out.  I would love to hear any feedback anybody has to offer.

Now, off to enjoy a very not homemade but equally satisfying dessert: girl scout cookies!  It was brought to my attention the other day that most types of girl scout cookies can actually be found year-round in the grocery store from other brands (i.e. Keebler “grasshoppers” = thin mints).  However, I feel that there is a certain nostalgia/special element to girl scout cookies that makes them so special, even if they are not necessarily the best, most unique cookies ever.  What do you guys think?  Worth the $3/ box for a bite of your childhood?  I think yes!

Leave a Reply

