Practically The Weekend

In my book, Thursday night is practically the weekend.  Which means it is the perfect time to justify having some delicious cupcakes (if you are the type that needs to justify it).

I don’t know about you guys, but this was one of those weeks that dragged on forever.  I have a big presentation to give tomorrow for my current rotation, and I may or may not have spent a little too much time cooking, drinking wine, and watching reality TV last week instead.  Either way, once the presentation is over tomorrow I can officially cross rotation #7/9 off my list.  That is another reason (still assuming we need one) to have some cupcakes!

(L): red velvet with buttercream frosting (R): vanilla with buttercream frosting

(L): red velvet with buttercream frosting (R): vanilla with buttercream frosting

These cupcakes are from Misha’s Cupcakes in Miami, FL.  There are about 4 store locations total, but the cupcakes can also be found at various locations such as the Nordstrom Cafe (Dadeland Mall location) and the University of Miami.

These are by far the best cupcakes ever.  I have tried Georgetown Cupcakes, Crumbs, and many others, and it is not even close.  My absolute favorite is the red velvet but the vanilla comes in a very close second.  The red velvet has the tiniest hint of chocolate chips that just adds the perfect touch.  These cupcakes are beyond moist and incredibly flavorful.  What sets these cupcakes apart from others is the fact that the cake, not the frosting, is the best part.  And that is not to say that the frosting isn’t absolutely delicious, but the cake is what steals the show.

Ryan and I recently got into a very heated debate with friends about cupcakes.  Our friends believe that the cake component to these cupcakes are too heavy and “muffin-like”.  They prefer a lighter, more airy cupcake with whipped-type frosting.  Now, call me crazy, but I disagree.  I want my cupcakes to  live up to their name and be round, scrumptious pieces of cake with more delicious frosting on top.  Feel free to weigh in on this debate.

For those of you in the South Florida area, you need to make a trip to Mishas ASAP (as in tomorrow) and try these cupcakes.  For those of you not in South Florida, I’m sorry.  Luckily for you, South Florida is a pretty nice vacation destination and if the beaches don’t do it for you, these cupcakes will :)

Now, if you assumed that because I am blogging I am done with my presentation for tomorrow, you are incorrect.  I am blogging because I am not done with it.  I think I have officially exhausted my procrastination options and have no choice but to be productive.

Happy almost Friday everyone!  Was this week as long for you as it was for me?  I would love to know: where was the best cupcake you ever had?  

 

Leave a Reply

